Skip to content

The Importance of Rituals by Elise M. Edwards

April 10, 2015

I, too, am one who takes rituals seriously. Now in the midst of my first year with a new congregation, I am trying to find my way, looking to see their rituals while incorporating some of my own. This Easter left me at a loss.

elise-edwardsMy sister once said about me, “One thing you have to understand about Elise—she takes the ritual of whole thing very seriously.” My sister was right and her words helped me see this quality about myself. What ritual was she talking about me taking so seriously? Happy hour on Fridays.

It was a different season of my life when she said this. I don’t have Friday happy hours regularly anymore, although I did gather with my friends nearly every week for food and drinks for many years throughout my 20s and 30s. It was often on Fridays, but at one point it was Wednesdays and then, for about a year, it was Thursday nights after a late shift at work.

More recently, I would meet a friend for crepes at the farmers’ market on Saturday mornings. Although the day and the time and specifics of these gatherings would vary, the…

View original post 821 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

