Skip to content

The Religion of My Rape by Jennifer Zobair

April 22, 2015

What a powerful piece of writing.

Take good care of yourself…

painted hands, Jennifer Zobair Photo Credit: Brian Ziska

Whenever the epidemic of rape in Egypt makes the news, I am destined to think of Joyce Carol Oates.

Last summer, the author took to twitter to question whether Islam was responsible for the widespread incidence of sexual assault in Egypt, an argument people continue to make today. As a Muslim woman, I desperately wanted to respond to Ms. Oates’ tweets. I held my cursor over the “reply” button countless times. But I’ve been silent about the things I would have said, about why I follow Dennis Rodman on twitter, and why Pearl Jam is my favorite band, and how my heart shattered for women in Syria who felt like they had to be silent, too.

I have been silent.

View original post 1,321 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

